Uncategorized

Budapest 2020: Reveal Yourself to Me – Message Three

Image result for szechenyi bath jacuzzi

Love is a language which we speak through actions. God is love, emulate him

The people in Budapest were extremely friendly despite the language barrier and cultural differences. Whilst Budapest appears to be a city with many different European communities, it is evident that English is not as common as it were when I travelled to the likes of Malaga. Having said that, people were still so helpful and approachable.

I’ve developed the habit of asking God daily to help me show love and kindness to anyone and honestly, I give God the glory for giving me this desire because believe me, it can get tiring and tedious if doing it according to human strength!

Whilst at the infamous Széchenyi Thermal Baths, I learned that a small act of kindness can go a long way where, even when human language can be a barrier, the language of love speaks louder and wins, always! The baths are extremely popular in Budapest with many travellers and guests visiting throughout the entire day and evening. With pools reaching as hot as 36°C, you could only imagine how busy it was with many trying to get a seat in the fun and soothing jacuzzi. Whilst we all waited for the jets to switch on, I noticed that a couple had entered but had to sit separately since all other guests were sitting in their couples and not attentive enough to shift around so that the lovebirds could be united. I could not help but feel the disappointment in the gentleman as he pulled a very sad face at his partner and they tried to mime at each other from across the tub.

At that very moment, I tried to make eye contact with him to indicate that I was willing to swap places with him. He did not understand a word that I was trying to say, nor did my finger waving of “lets swap” help. Instead, he thought I was asking whether he was speaking with me and responded in his language whilst pointing to his partner *cover face emoji*. I simply got up and walked towards him whilst gesturing that my seat was free for him. The delight in his face and the high pitch “thank you” his partner released was so heart-warming.

The greatest thing I learned was the power of love being a language that we can choose to speak and demonstrate when we walk in it and live by it. Knowing that God is love, we understand that because he has demonstrated his love and kindness towards, we too can show that kindness towards others by choosing to do good to others because we know God as love and want to be like him so we too choose to show and live in/by love

But anyone who does not love does not know God, for God is love.
1 John 4:8 NLT

What appears to be the smallest gesture can go a very long way. Never underestimate or overthink an act of kindness. Do it with love, with the right intentions and trust that your kindness is coming from a desire of wanting to do as God is good to you as opposed from a sense of self-righteousness or boastfulness. Seek opportunities to help make a difference in somebody’s life, it does not have to be the grandest thing which requires headline attention, but always make yourself available to help show kindness to another; you never know how much of a difference it makes to their life experience and the satisfaction it brings to your soul is incredible

Photo Credit: https://hellojetlag.com/szechenyi-baths-budapest/

Leave a comment